Ferrari joins Formula 1 New Balance Esports Series

Ferrari has been confirmed to compete in the upcoming third season of the Formula 1 New Balance Esports Series.

This marks the first time that all 10 Formula 1 teams have competed together in the esports series since its inception.

Ferrari F1 Esports
Photo via: Formula 1

Ferrari will join the following teams in the competition’s third season: Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport, Aston Martin Red Bull Racing, Alfa Romeo Racing, McLaren F1 Team, Rich Energy Haas F1 Team, Renault F1 Team, Red Bull Toro Rosso Honda, SportPesa Racing Point F1 Team, and ROKiT Williams Racing.

Julian Tan, Head of Growth and Esports at Formula 1 discussed the news: “It’s incredibly exciting to welcome all 10 teams to take part in the 2019 F1 New Balance Esports Series for the first time. Last year saw amazing growth for the series and with the commitment of Ferrari completing the virtual grid, we continue to elevate the series to greater heights as we further align our virtual and real world sports, creating one of the world’s most innovative esports offerings whether in motorsports or beyond. As the 10 teams all vie for a cut of the $500,000 prize fund, this is going to be the biggest season to date.”

Each of the 10 teams will be involved in a Pro Draft in July where they will select the drivers that will represent them in the upcoming series. The competitors who make it through the online qualifying stage will race-off against each other to decide who makes the final pool of candidates to join a Formula 1 team.

Esports Insider says: We think it’s important for the perception of the competition that all of the Formula 1 teams have now committed, proving that there’s a joint effort and faith in the esports equivalent of the competition. It may have taken three seasons but it’s finally happened and we’re sure fans will be happy about it.

Subscribe to ESI on YouTube