Ubisoft announces Rainbow Six North American League

The Rainbow Six North American League is now the official successor to the Rainbow Six Pro League, according to an announcement by Ubisoft.

After a tumultuous landing of the Rainbow Six Pro League that created plenty of drama, Ubisoft is moving forward with a series of leagues across multiple regions, a path-to-pro, and comprehensive schedule.

Rainbow Six North America League
Image credit: Ubisoft

RELATED: Spacestation Gaming sponsors NASCAR driver Will Rodgers

The new Rainbow Six North American League is split into four divisions. The US Division promises to be the strongest with eight teams led by defending champions Spacestation Gaming. The Canada division features four teams who will lock up their spots with an open qualifier and will compete online throughout the season.

Underneath them is the challenger divisions for both the US and Canada which will have a chance to ascend to the top tier with a promotion/relegation match at the end of each year.

Rainbow Six North American League timeline
Image credit: Ubisoft

RELATED: $42.5M raised in disclosed esports investments in April 2020

The timeline for the competition will keep players competing virtually year-round. Starting in 2021, matches will begin in March with major events in May, August, and November. The year will finish with the Rainbow Six Invitational in February. The schedule for the 2020 season had to be amended due to the transition with the May major not being held.

Esports Insider says: The biggest issue for this league will be getting organisations to sign on. With Luminosity and Evil Geniuses both releasing their rosters recently, the top-flight US division only features a few household names in Spacestation Gaming, TSM, Tempo Storm, and eUnited. The rest of the league consists of smaller organizations primarily focused on Rainbow Six with DarkZero Esports, Susquehanna Soniqs, Disrupt Gaming, and Oxygen Esports. 

Find out more about ESI Digital Summer