Blizzard announces final Overwatch World Cup teams

23 September 2016


Of the 50 countries that entered a team into the qualification for the Overwatch World Cup, only 16 have made it. overwatchworldcup

Blizzard has now announced which teams were successful and which will compete at the international tournament in Anaheim, California in November.

They are the United States, Canada, Brazil, Chile, Sweden, Germany, France, Finland, Russia, Spain, China, South Korea, Taiwan, Singapore, Thailand and Australia / New Zealand. 

Prior to the tournament itself on November 4-5, there’s a round robin stage on October 29. 

Overwatch is of course an esports in its youth and as such few teams have garnered the same impassioned following of teams in other titles such as League of Legends. Many are touting Overwatch as the new potential esports heavyweight and with events such as this, this could well come to fruition.

Newzoo’s stats for August showed that Overwatch jumped to fifth in terms of viewing hours on Twitch, putting it behind only CS:GO, Dota 2, Hearthstone and League of Legends.