University Rocketeers unveils 2022-23 season, includes €25,000 prize pool and Collegiate World Championship slots

11 October 2022


UniRocketeers Circuit 2022-23
Image credit: University Rocketeers

European university Rocket League platform University Rocketeers has announced details surrounding UniRocketeers Circuit 2022-23, the European portion of the global collegiate Rocket League season.

University Rocketeers has partnered with developer Psyonix and esports platform eFuse for the pan-European series, which will award a total €25,000 (~£22,000) in prizing and qualification slots for the CRL World Championship.

The UniRocketeers (UR) 2022-23 circuit will take place across the Winter and Spring university semesters, and will involve hundreds of universities from across Europe. University Rocketeers claims 542 teams from 289 universities across all member countries competed last year.

Qualification for UR 2022-23 will involve a mixture of Open Qualifiers, and qualification through mass-participation National Leagues in teams’ respective country or region.

For the Winter season, 16 teams will qualify via Open Qualifiers for a €5000 (~£4400) prize pool. In Spring, the top teams from the Winter season of every National League, the top eight teams from UR Winter, and 16 Open Qualifier teams will receive invites to UR Spring and fight for €10,200 (~£8900).

The six best-performing teams from the UR 2022-23 circuit will represent their university on the global stage at Psyonix’s Collegiate Rocket League (CRL) World Championship, which is set to take place some time in Summer 2023.

ESI has teamed up with META for Esports Revolution in Brussels. To find out more, click here.

CRL World Championship invites will be handed to the winner of UR Winter, the top three teams from UR Spring, and two teams from a Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ) to be held in April 2023, according to the circuit’s rulebook.

National Leagues are run by partner organisations in different regions. These include National Student Esports (NSE) in the UK, Uniliga in Germany and the Nordics, Belgian Student League in Belgium, Nativz Collegiate in Ireland, Dutch Student League in the Netherlands. The rest of Europe — barring Russian universities — will compete in the UR Wildcard League.

Jake Nordland
Jake has worked at Esports Insider as a journalist and editor since early 2021. Now ESI's Media Manager, he continues to act as lead editor of print magazine The Esports Journal, and contributes his words to the website from time to time.