BLAST Premier reveals competing teams and London stop

16 December 2019


BLAST has announced the 12 partnered teams that will participate in its BLAST Premier circuit for Counter-Strike: Global Offensive.

The tournament organiser has selected a variety of teams, from those with rich history in the game to newcomers.

BLAST Premier Teams
Photo credit: BLAST

RELATED: TV 2 Denmark enters licensing deal to broadcast BLAST Premier

The BLAST Premier circuit will see 12 teams earn points according to their performance in each BLAST event of the year. The first event is set to be hosted in London in January 2020, though the venue and specific date haven;t been disclosed at the time of writing.

The teams that have agreed to compete in the circuit are as follows: 100 Thieves, Astralis, Complexity Gaming, Evil Geniuses, FaZe Clan, G2 Esports, MIBR, Natus Vincere, Ninjas in Pyjamas, OG, Team Liquid, and Team Vitality.

Robbie Douek, CEO of BLAST commented on the line-up in a release: “Our platform has entertained millions of esport fans around the globe. The new BLAST Premier format is even more engaging, fast paced and easy to consume. We are excited by the world class team lineup, and can’t wait to kick off in January.”

RELATED: BLAST enters broadcast deal with Winstrike for BLAST Premier

The eight best teams over the course of the season will ultimately face off in the BLAST Premier finals in autumn, which boasts a prize pool of $1.5 million (£1.13 million).

Nicolas Maurer, CEO of Team Vitality added: “BLAST came to all of the teams with a proposition that is set to transform the industry. We believe the BLAST approach of producing best in class entertainment will continue to attract large new audiences as a global series in cool locations, innovative format and unique experiences. It was a no brainer to participate for all teams and players. We are excited to be competing against each other.”

Esports Insider says: BLAST has done a good job securing the best teams, as well as the wildcards with lots of potential. After closing significant broadcasting deals with Winstrike and TV 2 Denmark, the wheels are in motion for BLAST to deliver a major improvement from the BLAST Pro Series in what’s going to be a very competitive 2020.