MotoGP’s 2016 esports champion revealed

06 January 2017


The winner of the Inaugural 2016 MotoGP Fan World Championship has been named as Irish rider Eugene Laverty of Aspar Team MotoGP. 

Loris Baz riding of Avintia Racing and Spaniard Aleix Espargaro of Team Suzuki Ecstar finished second and third respectively. This was the first esports championship for the motorcycle racing org and over three million fans battled it out to determine the final podium.

In total MotoGP fans undertake around half a million races every day, investing a collective 60,000 hours of game time each day. Figures such as these will clearly speak to brands and sponsors.

Graeme Warring, the developer of the App and creator of the MotoGP Fan World Championship series stated: “This is the first time players in a mobile gaming application have competed to win a championship which is rewarded with such incredible real world prizes. MotoGP fans are not only at the forefront of supporting the best motorsport event in the world, but they have also become the first in the world to compete in such a highly organised esports series on mobile.”  
The ever popular Valentino Rossi was the most chosen racer in the Fan World Championship and amassed the highest aggregate score of over 2 trillion points in total. This was not enough to secure the 2016 Fan World Championship crown as the focus is not just on popularity, but the consistent effort put in by fans over the season to support their favorite rider.

MotoGP’s 2017 Fan World Championship is underway now. 

Esports Insider says: Many are predicting mobile esports will be one of the areas that has a strong 2017 and well backed titles such as this will form a part of that.